A    A    A

Gluten free diet

Sponsored Links

Have you heard of gluten sensitivity? Or have you heard about people following gluten free diet? We all must have wondered when we heard for the first time about a gluten free diet. So, what exactly is gluten? Gluten is a complex protein that is found in wheat, barley, rye, and some type of oats and gluten free diet would mean nothing, but avoiding all kinds of foods that has gluten.

But, why would you avoid gluten? There are people are sensitive to gluten or those who are suffering from celiac disease. What happens when you eat gluten foods? People who are suffering from celiac disease or intolerance to gluten, consumes foods that has gluten, will lead to the inflammation of small intestine. This may lead to stomach troubles like bloated feeling, abdominal pain. By following a gluten free diet you can reduce the troubles caused due to gluten in tolerance.

Starting a completely gluten free diet, will be difficult in the beginning as many foods that are available in the markets do contain some amount of gluten. Not just that you will have to bid adieu to almost all your favourite foods. Let us see here, the foods that you can have when you are on a gluten free diet.

Vegetables, fruits, eggs, poultry, seafood, milk and milk products are naturally gluten free and hence you can have them as much as you can without any worry. Honey, sugar rice, legumes are also naturally gluten free foods. But when you choose baked or processed foods you should be careful and should read the labels before buying and consuming them. Buy food products that have labels stating ‘100% gluten free’. It has been found that most of the breakfast cereals will have gluten in them; they will be made from barley, wheat, rye and more. Hence choose rice and corn based cereals for breakfast.

Most of the processed foods may contain gluten so it should be avoided. Let us look into some of the foods that you should avoid, when you are on a gluten free diet.

Bid adieu to bread

For most of us breads are something that we cannot take away from our menu. As we all know bread contains wheat, rye and marble that contains gluten. This means that you have to say bye to croissants, burger buns even pizzas. But the good news is that many super markets and bakeries have now made available gluten free breads and other products.  All these will be made from potato starch and rice instead of wheat and wheat products.


Say no to cakes and cookies

Cakes and cookies are made of wheat flour and which is high in gluten. If you have a liking towards sweets then it can be disappointing news for you. But there are sweets available in bakeries that have gluten free sweets, you can choose sweets like plain candies to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Be careful with the beverages

It is true that alcohols and wine are gluten free. But you should take care to avoid beer; most of the beers are made from barley malt which is high in gluten.

Once you know that you need to follow a gluten free diet then you need to careful when you go for shopping. Read and understand the labels completely so that you don’t land up in trouble. The label may say it is ‘gluten free’, but always remember to go through the ingredients list they have given. Going through the lists make sure that there are no ingredients present that may have gluten trace in them.

You may find gluten free diet can be very inconvenient especially when you are dining out. Don’t be shy or reluctant to check with the waiter or the chef about the available gluten free foods. They are sure to help you. It is for sure that following gluten free diet is very difficult rather challenging. You can consult your doctor or the dietician, before you start with diet and also consult with them before making any changes in the diet.

Written by: Healthplus24 team
Date last updated: June  25, 2013


Sponsored Links